Mayo League Champion 2023

“Edmundson wins Mayo League”

Steven Edmundson tops off his recent run of great form to finish 3rd in the final round of the Mayo Cycling League and take the overall league victory from David Brennan of Castlebar.

Steven who competed in all the rounds finished strong in all events taking 10th, 2nd and then 1st in the 3rd round in Balyhaunis hosted by Annagh Wheelers followed by a 5th and a very strong 3rd, which left him at the top of the standing after 5 rounds.

It was clear after 3 rounds that the club was now riding for Steven to seal the victory and with super riding from the team in the form of Paul Gerathy, Keith O Connell, Joe Moran, Robert Coakley, Brian Glavey, Lee Tuffy, Noel Mulroy, Colm Staunton and Noel Kelly over various rounds. However the overall was only secured on the last night with Colm taking 2nd and Steven hot on his wheel taking 3rd.

Other notable results form the league:

Paul Geraghty taking a 2nd and a 3rd and Colm Staunton taking a 2nd.

Well done to Castlebar CC for running the event and for all the clubs who hosted a round.