Covey / WLCC Interclub League Rd 1‏ Thursday 7th May Ballinrobe

Road Race – Sign on cycling centre @ 6.15 Race starts at 7.00

A link to the route profile for round 1 can be viewed here;  https://connect.garmin.com/modern/course/9506155


Refreshments will be served afterwards in Inch’s Bar .

Showers available at the lake side sports complex Station Rd Ballinrobe. ( junction adjacent to the fire station )

 €25 Entry fee for the 4 races paid before competition starts Or €10 entry fee per race. 

League rules, regulations & points scoring system below:


Western/ Covey cycling League rules and points system 



Each club is responsible for their members and will have to make a decision on the ability of their racers. Competent Club officers will have to screen their riders in advance so that each competitor has the fitness and skill level to be able to compete in their respective category at Western Covey league level

Road Races 

 A handicap system will be in place for the road races, the aim of the H/cap is for cyclists to work together so their group hold of the scratch groups for as long as possible or catch the group in front depending on what group you are in, Handicaps will be at the discretion of the handicapper who will apply a seeding to all the riders participating where possible.

Points for the top 10 in each handicapped road race. Handicapping is at the discretion of the organisers. i.e. Groups may not be divided by license alone. 

Time Trial 

In order to keep the league fair the Time Trial  will be handicapped by category as the riders compete in their respective Cycling Ireland License groupings.

4 groups – A1/2, A3/Jr, A4/club, Lady/U16. The top ten in each category scoring.

Joint scores on the leader board will result in the rider with the faster TT being higher placed.

Points Scoring System for Road Races. 

 Handicapped Races (top 10) 

1st25 pts   1st40 pts   11th 19pts 

2nd  23 pts   2nd  38 pts   12th 18pts 

3rd  21 pts    3rd  36 pts    13th 17pts 

4th19 pts    4th34 pts   14th 16pts 

5th 18 pts    5th 32 pts   15th 15 pts 

6th 17 pts    6th 30 pts   16th 14pts 

7th 16 pts    7th 28 pts   17th 13pts 

8th 15 pts    8th 26 pts   18th 12pts 

9th 14 pts    9th 24 pts   19th 11pts 

10th 13 pts    10th 22 pts   20th 10 pts 


TT Scoring System ( for each Group A1/A2, A3/Jr,A4/Club, Ldy/U16) 

25 pts    1st 

23 pts    2nd 

21 pts    3rd 

19 pts    4th 

18 pts    5th 

17 pts    6th 

16 pts    7th 

15 pts    8th 

14 pts    9th 

13 pts    10th 

Team Competition 

The points awarded to riders finishing in the top ten in each race will be used for the

calculation of the Team points competition. The Club with the highest winning points

total at the end of the league wins the Team League Club ‘Team Prize’ perpetual cup

Lady’s League 

Top 5 ladies score the following in each race: 10, 8,6,4 and 2 points respectively.

Ladies Teams competition:  Points scored in the top 5 will be accumulated at the end of the league to get a ladies Team winner.


The league points overall will only be open to cyclists from Western Lakes CC and Westport Covey Clubs Cyclists from outside these clubs may race at the discretion of the League  Committee.

Fair play is considered a must at all events. The Rules of the Road will strictly be adhered to.

The commissaire or the experienced person appointed will officiate the race and may warn or disqualify a rider or riders if there are seen to race in a dangerous manor.

Categories & Licensing:   

1 Cyclists must have one of the following categories of License: Ladies, U16, Juniors,

Club Competition, A4, A3, A2 & A1.

2 Leisure License holders cannot participate.

3 Cyclists must have their License and race number at each race.

Rules of the Competition  

1    Helmets are compulsory.

2    Sign on for individual races will close 15 minutes before the start. Riders   who fail to sign on will be refused race entry.

3    Every rider must wear a number pinned to the back of their jersey at  every race, this number must not be covered by a rain jacket or clothing.

4    Rules of Cycling Ireland apply.

5    Riders must wear their own club or team racing jersey or a plain jersey. Pro team jerseys are not permitted under Cycling Ireland rules

6    No tri bars allowed in the Road Races.

7    No drafting in the Time Trial.

8    Handicap committee decision is final, no debating on the start line.

9    Obey the Marshalls.

10   €25 Entry fee for the 4 races paid before competition starts Or €10 entry fee per race.

11    All race expenses must be paid for on the night as appropriate to the event; The Committee will pay a max of €70 towards the refreshments and €70 towards the ambulance if needed.

12   2/3 of the entries after expenses go towards Prize Fund

13   The league will be held on open roads and all competitors must obey the rules of the road. Riders found to be breaking these rules or riding in a dangerous manner will

be subject to penalty, which may include disqualification from an individual race or from the entire series.  Decisions made on this matter will be made by the organisers

and are final. Riders must obey marshalls instructions 14   Earphones, Ipods, MP3 players etc. Are strictly forbidden in all events. Riders found to be using these are subject to automatic disqualification

15   Each club is responsible for the organisation of each league round and must provide venue, Safe and marked out route, Map of route,  sign on personal, lead cars, marshals, changing facilities, refreshments and presentation venue.

Prizes/ Photos 

The first 3 across the line at each race. These riders must present themselves for a

podium shot at each race presentation.

The person leading the overall points is obliged to wear the Leaders yellow

jersey at each race.

Prizes presented at Presentation night 

1. Overall Winner

2. Ladies Winner

3. The top 10 overall.

4. Team Prize

5. Most Improved Rider

6. Most Aggressive Rider

7. Category prizes

8. Young Rider.

9. Fastest TT,

10. The committee decision on improvement, aggressive and young categories is final.

Prize presentation may take place at the end of the season or as directed by cycling W/C League committee