RAS Mhaigh Eo 2019 (A1, A2, A3 2 Day) (A4 Sunday)


DATE: Saturday 23rd March and Sunday 24th March
OPEN TO: A1, A2, A3, Juniors and Ladies.
REGISTRATION – €60 Online registration – Closes Monday 18th March 12 Noon
RACE HEADQUARTERS: Westport United FC, Golf Course Road, Westport, Co. Mayo

Ras Mhaigh Eo is the first 2 Day Stage Race of 2019, the routes will take the riders on some of Mayo’s most scenic and testing roads and provide excellent preparation for the big Easter stage races. The first stage route is the same as used in previous additions with a slightly more challenging closing stage added for this year. We’ve retained the new ‘fair’ hilly TT route added last year, so you may not need a TT bike… this is down to your own personal preference – TT route is half flat and half uphill (overall avg gradient 2.4%). See race maps and full details below.


Riders will be contending for the 4 classification jerseys up for grabs, as well as generous category prizes:

Classifications – In order of priority:

1. Yellow Jersey Overall – Lowest Overall time
2. Green Jersey – Highest score based on points 3,2,1 at each of the intermediate sprints
3. Polka Dot Jersey – Highest score based on points 3,2,1 at each of the King of the Hill primes
4. White Jersey – Best Placed Junior/A2/A3 on Overall time

Riders can only win one classification. Next highest rider takes the Classification. Detailed maps of routes with locations of Sprint Primes and KOH’s will be available at sign on.

We will also have prizes for the following:

  • Top 10 Overall
  • Top 6 in stage 1
  • Top 3 in stage 2 Time Trial
  • Top 6 in stage 3
  • Top 3 Juniors
  • Top 3 Cat 2
  • Top 3 Cat 3
  • Top 3 Ladies
  • Team Cup (Best 3 riders on team on final GC)

Riders must collect prizes at the Presentation

CI Points available:
Stage 1: 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1
Stage 2 TT: 6,5,4,3,2,1
Stage 3: 10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1
General Classification: 15,14,13,12,11,10,9,8,7,6,5,4,3,2,1


Podium of Jersey winners in 2018 Rás Maigheo, including yellow jersey Cathal Dillane, Gerry McVeigh Cars Team


STAGE 1 – 104km Road Race 
SIGN ON LOCATION: Westport United FC, Golf Course Road, Westport.
sign on map
SIGN ON TIME: 9:30am – 10:30am
RACE START: 11am, Roll out from Race HQ at 10:45am
MAP:  stage 1

STAGE 2 – 3.4km Hilly Time Trial 
SIGN ON: No sign on, start times based on rider numbers
LOCATION: Lecanvey, Westport. Start Location
RACE START: First rider off at 4:00pm with riders off in 1 minute intervals.
MAP: Stage 2
PARKING: No Parking is available at start, please park in Murrisk car park – Parking Location – be mindful not to impede traffic
NOTE:Riders should be there 10mins before time slot. No exceptions made for time slots missed.

Riders will not be allowed to return to the start/car park on the TT course. Please follow this route, turning right 200m after the finish: http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/fullscreen/1939009142/

STAGE 3 – 108km Road Race.
SIGN ON LOCATION: Westport United FC, Golf Course Road, Westport.
sign on map
SIGN ON TIME: 9:30am – 10:30am
RACE START: 11:15am, Roll out from the Race HQ at 11:00am
MAP: Stage 3

Any queries please contact: westportcc@gmail.com
Prize Giving
  • For  all stages including A4 race.
  • Castlecourt Hotel after the final stage from 2:30pm. 
  • Location: Here

A4 RACE – Sunday March 24th

Register online here: – Online Entry

Or on on the day for A4 only – 15 euro. *Please bring exact amount if possible. Bring your own numbers. No license no race.

Race open to men and women. Equal prizes for men and women.

84km Road Race – Route Map

SIGN ON LOCATION: Westport United FC, Golf Course Road, Westport – sign on map

SIGN ON TIME: 9:30am – 10:30am

RACE START: 11:20am, Roll out from Race HQ at 11am