Whats happening:

Club Presentations

Westport CC annual night away and presentations took place last Saturday 20th of October in The Station House Hotel.

A hardy group cycled out via Leeaun for the coffee stop thanks to Gaynors, then progressed along two different routes to Clifden.

After the meal the club presentations took place lead by chairperson Aidan Gill ably assisted by Nuala Currid with photos on the night by Sean Hyland.

The presentations started with the regular “boobie prizes” handed out for super rain avoidance, super baking, super cycling apparel, super long worded award and worlds best chowder sniffer outer!

Next we moved onto the Time Trial league where Mary Daly topped the league sporting a dress which woooed the crowd.

Mary was presented with her trophy by Nuala Currid and Aidan Gill

Next up we presented the Covey League Winners. The league was a tight affair only decided on the final night. Coming out on top was Joe Moran.

Joe accepted his trophy from Nuala Currid and league winners sponsor Stephen Breheny.

The club made a special presentation to Stephen Breheny to recognise the contribution of Stephen and his family business to the Westport community and further afield. The doors of Breheny cycles closed last August ending one of Mayos longest running businesses in operation since 1854 overseen by 3 generations.

Stephen and his family have been part of the Covey Wheelers and its previous incarnations for over 100 years. Stephens uncle Tom cycled from Westport to Dublin in 1907 in 12 hours.The following year, on the 12th of September he did in again, this time in 11hrs 15mins setting a new record. He did it quicker than the train at the time and he had to call in at several Garda stations along the way to confirm that he wasn’t cheating.

Stephen has been involved in cycling since a young lad,  after a brief spell playing rugby he returned to do the Maracycle in the 80s. This was a trip from Dublin to Belfast one day and return the following day. Bob Kilkelly was instrumental in getting him started again. Paul Kilkelly, Gary Kennedy, Eamon Duffy, Eamonn Berry and several others were involved at this stage.

Stephen was also one of the organisers of the Covey Wheelers Valentines Ball for many years and raised in excess  of €20,000 for various charities.

He also did Mizen to Malin in the 1990s, itself a great feat.

Stephen was presented with a bronze plague on by Aidan Gill on behalf of the club.

The full list of winners is below. Anyone who wasn’t in attendance please pick your trophy up from Michael Flynn at Flynn Computers on James Street.

Covey Wheelers League
1st Joe Moran
2nd Richard Meaney
3rd Dec Gallagher
Best club Padraic Furlong
Best A4 Tommie Gill
Best A3 Mike Flynn
Best lady Mary Daly
Best junior Keith Mulroy
Time Trial Presentations
1st Mary Daly
2nd Dec Gallagher
3rd Aidan Gill
 1st lady Mary Daly
Joint 2nd Ladies Freda Kay
Joint 2nd Ladies Deirdre Clarke
Best club Mick Hogan
Best M40 Colm Stauton
Best M60 Stephen Breheny
Most Consistent Rider Keith O’Connell
Most Improved Rider Walter Lyons
Fastest Male   Ben Walsh
Fastest Female Hillary Hughes