Ras Mhaigh Eo Race Preview

Online registration is now closed with almost full entry. – email westportcc@gmail.com for info on limited availability. There are some big teams taking on this years event with the defending champion, Ronan Killeen returning from Lucan CC with 12 riders in support. Orwell Wheelers have also a big team to put it up to the huge field of 130 riders, last year Tom Blennerhasset went close in the overall.

The hosting Club Westport Covey Wheelers have a strong team of 10 riders with Ger Corcoran being the local favourite having won Stage 2 of the Connaught 2 Day last year and more recently the first round TT of the local league which ran over the same course as Sunday’s Stage 2A.


The big favourite has to be the inform Daire Feeley along with the all the troopers from the itap squad. Daire was unlucky last year having hit the deck overtaking a car on the technical run into the finish on Stage 1. Daire still managed to win the Smarter Travel White jersey but no doubt will hope to take away the Overall Castlecourt Yellow Jersey this year having rested up last weekend in preparation.

Simon Tuomey from Cork Giant racing team will have his sights on the Junior White Jersey having placed in the Lacey Cup earlier in the year. All the other jerseys are on offer, the Mill Times Hotel Green Sprinters Jersey and Wyatt Hotel Polka Dot on offer at the koh primes which will help to shake up the action. Former Covey rider and Irish International Triathlete Con Doherty along with his new UCD teammates will hope to use his local knowledge to his advantage. Whilst Tony Bourke from Galway Bay will be a firm favourite for the Credit Union Sponsored Mickey Palmer TT on Sunday morning. Peter McBride is also a top ranked A2 rider for AAA cycling club who has notched up a number recent results and will be one to watch.

All in all as every cyclists knows it can be a lottery but with the weather looking favourable and the high quality field we are certainly in for a good racing spectacle.


1FlynnMichaelWestport Covey Wheelers
2O ConnellPatjoeWestport Covey Wheelers
3HastingsKeithWestport Covey Wheelers
4CorcoranGerardWestport Covey Wheelers
5O ConnellKeithWestport Covey Wheelers
6BourkeTomWestport Covey Wheelers
7O'ReeillyAichlinnWestport Covey Wheelers
8ConwayParaicWestport Covey Wheelers
9MeaneyRichardWestport Covey Wheelers
10StauntonColmWestport Covey Wheelers
11McGrathDavidCastlebar CC
12CorcoranLiamCastlebar CC
13WalsheDavidCastlebar CC
14tuohypeterCastlebar CC
15BensonKarlCastlebar CC
16MarkQuigleyWestern Lakes CC
17HolianBarryWestern Lakes CC
18HughesPadraicWestern Lakes CC
19flahertyJohn jWestern Lakes CC
20blinovsjanisWestern Lakes CC
21SutcliffeCianLucan CRC
22WhiteDermotLucan CRC
23FlynnSeanLucan CRC
24killeenronanLucan CRC
25StephensonGerLucan CRC
26PriestJohnLucan CRC
27AndrewKeoghLucan CRC
28NichollsMarkLucan CRC
29McDunphyConnLucan CRC
30MurtaghEugeneLucan CRC
31bryanstephenLucan CRC
32Campbell GroganRossLucan CRC
33McNamaraMartinLucan CRC
34DonoghueEvanAAA Cycling Team
35McKinleyMatthewAAA Cycling Team
36McBrideNeilAAA Cycling Team
37BrennanMichaelAAA Cycling Team
38PetermcbrideAAA Cycling Team
39WalshJasonBallina CC
40WalshDavidBallina CC
41KilgallenPeterBallina CC
42MC InerneySeanBurren Cycling Club
43HanrahanDeclanCarrick Wheelers
44JohnFitzpatrickCKR Cycling Club
45TuomeySimonCork Giant Race Team
46O'LearyRobertCork Giant Race Team
47MurphyStephenCunga CC
48finniganstephenEire Og CC
49O'HalloranEndaEire Og CC
50SomersMichaelEire Og CC
51MulleadyJosephEire Og CC
52dohertypaulErrigal CC
53HarkinciaranErrigal CC
54RankinAdamErrigal CC
55LeeAustinErrigal CC
56DabellConorErrigal CC
57McGreevyJamesWestport Covey Wheelers
58CunninghamAlanGalway Bay CC
59O'ConnorSeanGalway Bay CC
60O'FlynnRonanGalway Bay CC
61VaheyBenGalway Bay CC
62FordeRonanGalway Bay CC
63GeraghtyRuaidhriGalway Bay CC
64BourkeTonyGalway Bay CC
65DivillyMartinGalway Bay CC
66O FarrellDamienGARDA
68christianjoeGorey CC
69DohertyMichaelInishowen wheelers
70O MahonyFlorKillorglin CC
71O'SullivanBrendanKillorglin CC
72mc grorykieranLakeland cc
74O donoghueEoinLimerick
75dunnepaulLiquidworx Fitscience
76BowyerDerekLiquidworx Fitscience
77ryderbrendanLiquidworx Fitscience
78ReynoldsColinLiquidworx Fitscience
79TempleLeoLongford CRC
80QuinnshaneLongford CRC
81MullinMichaelLongford CRC
82HollandJohnMcNally Swords CC
83SherlockKevinNenagh C.C.
84WoolleyEoinNenagh CC
85KennedyKennethNenagh CC
86ScullyShaneNenagh CC
87KennedyMatthewNenagh CC
88molonyendanorthwest mtb
90BusherJamieOrwell Wheelers CC
91CollinsAidanOrwell Wheelers CC
92HudsonNealOrwell Wheelers CC
93RowsomeLiamOrwell Wheelers CC
94CollinsDiarmuidOrwell Wheelers CC
95O'BrienDickOrwell Wheelers CC
96McArdleBrianOrwell Wheelers CC
97BlennerhassettTomOrwell Wheelers CC
98DoyleMichaelRossbury Racing
99DempseyGregRossbury Racing
100whittydavidRossbury Racing
101McCafferyPatsyRossbury Racing
102CullenBrianRossbury Racing
103CoughlanNickRossbury Racing
104GribbonsRichardSeven Springs
105McGinleyKevinSeven springs cc
106MartinKevinShannonside CC
107WhitingDanielSt Finbarr's CC
108MaloneJohnSt Tiernans CC
109MayFergalSt Tiernans CC
110McGettiganJohnSt Tiernans CC
111WalshBarrySt Tiernans CC
112RiceMurtSundrive Track Team
113Mc CullaghMatthewSundrive Track Team
114o brienthomasSundrive Track Team
115MarshBrendonN3 Racing
116FitzpatrickRonanN3 Racing
117mcginleyjordanTeam iTap
118FeeleyDaireTeam iTap
119BaileyDarraghTeam iTap
120BrodyDavidTeam iTap
121CurtisGilmoreTeam iTap
122O ConnellPaulTipp wheelers
123DohertyConUCD CC
124MoriartyMikeyUCD CC
125NooneJamieUCD CC
126ColmFerrariUCD CC
127claffeymáireUCD CC
131leonardMichaelLucan CRC