Ras na Turcai – 1st Jan 2014

After having to reschedule the Ras na Turcai due to storms on the 27th December Westport Covey Wheelers held their annual Christmas race ‘Ras na Turcai’ on New Years Day. With over 30 riders signing on at the Skate Park the race was held in wet and blustery conditions out to Louisburgh and back. The pace was controlled for the first 20km with the bunch staying together as far as Old Head on the return leg. James Fitzsimmon, Noreen O’Toole and David Walshe upped the pace and were unlucky not to pull away with Keith O’Connell and Declan Maloney. However the day belonged to Sean McLoughlin who was involved with all the early moves and eventually clipped off the front on a lone attack at Lecanvey. Concerned experienced riders then came to the front to chase the lone breakaway. Michael Brady and Oliver Whyte put in some big turns but at Murrisk Colm Staunton launched a big attack with Declan Maloney and David Walshe hot on his wheel. When the chasing trio were joined by James McGreevey the race looked tied up but all was brought back together by Gannons garage bar the now tiring Sean McLoughlin. Inside the last 2k there was a big effort to close the gap and Sean was eventually caught with 200m to go. The uphill sprint was initiated by James McGreevey but Colm Staunton was tight on his wheel and countered inside the last 50m to follow up on his win last year. Oliver Whyte was 3rd overall, tied in 4th place was Declan Maloney and Eoghan McLoughlin both youths who beat numerous seasoned cyclists. Noreen O’Toole was the best placed lady. Westport Covey Wheelers would like to thank all the marshalls and drivers for the help with the race.

Colm StauntonTom Carr & Noreen O'Toole 1st Jan 2014Sean McLaughlin 1st Jan 2014James McGreevy Ben Walsh MartinOliver Whyte 1st Jan 2014

Posted in