Colm Staunton Wins Covey League


League leader Colm Staunton knew he was virtually assured of the league win if he got the participation point, and so it proved, with none of his nearest challengers able to take the points necessary to put him under any pressure. Congratulations Colm, consistent performances all season paved the way for your success.

A small turn out of 23 riders signed on for the final round of the Covey League 2013 on Sunday morning. It was a  16.8km TT which started at the garden centre on the West road, went out to Murrisk, turning just past the Reek and came back to finish at the garden centre.

Conditions on the two legs of the Trial were polar opposites for the riders, with a strong tailwind on the outward half turning into a massive headwind for the journey home. It was  a mental challenge as well as a physical one on the way home i’m sure all would agree.

James TT

Fastest on the day was James McGreevy with a time of 25:22, followed closely by the fast improving David Walshe with a time of 25:34. Richard Meaney and Ger Corcoran rounded out the points in Group 1.

The honours in Group 2 went to Dave O Malley in 27:20. Also in the points were Ben Walsh, Eoghan Carr and Robert Conway.

Theo Ingham was the quickest home from group 3 in a time of 28:30, two seconds ahead of Antonio Fernandez. Ann Marie Egan and Keith Hastings took the remaining points on offer.

We would like to thank the helpers on the morning, Steven Breheny, Noel Brady, John and Eithne Doherty, Tony and Teresa Walsh, Danny Maloney, Padraig Higgins and Padraig Gannon.

See you all next year for more of the same!!

Report by Sir James McGreevy

Time Trial Results:
 [Download not found]
Final table below:
[Download not found]