Tom Bourke Cup2

McGreevy wins Tom Bourke Mid Summer Race

Tom Bourke Mid Summer Race 2012 Results

James McGreevy won the Tom Bourke Mid Summer Race in a tight uphill sprint finish.

The race was held on the 60km course from Westport to Killeen and back to Westport via Creeganbaun. 59 competitors had to push into a gruelling headwind for the first 30km. Once turned at Killeen, conditions were favourable for much of the remainder of the race with the strong tail wind.

Group 1 put in a strong display, there was lots of attacks, and a group of riders managed to break away at Murrisk but they were reeled back in by Lecanvey. They held off Group 2 until Dooghmakeon.

Right from the start Group 2 worked extremely well together, doing constant up and over. The pace took its toll on most riders, with a 7 man break finally managing to get away at the 35km mark. The break away group consisted of 3 Coveys, 3 Castlebar CC riders, and a lone Donamon Dynamos rider.

Group 4 caught Group 3 in Kilsallagh and tore it apart. From that point on it was all about catching group 2, they closed it down to within 1 minute by Louisburgh, but that’s as close as they got, as the 7 man break from Group 2 continued to work well together until the finish. A number of jumps in Group 4 hindered their chances of catching the men up the road and they lead group held their gap for the last 15km.

The Castlebar riders were the first to go for the sprint at the finish, but Covey James McGreevy managed to out sprint them and just managed to hold off Donamon Dynamos rider Roger Farrell by half a wheel to take 1st. Niall Kilkenny was third.

Watch the sprint finish below:

A huge thank you to Tom Bourke for hosting the race and for his very generous sponsorship. This is the 2nd year the race has been held. We would also like to thank all the marshalls and people who gave their time to help out, it is greatly appreciated. Thanks to Westport Leisure Park for facilitating the sign on and showers afterwards.

This race also doubled as the Western Lakes/Covey League Round 6, the updated table will be posted soon.


1st – James McGreevy ( Westport Covey Wheelers)
2nd – Roger Farrell (Donamon CC)
3rd – Niall Kilkenny (Castlebar CC)
4th – David Brody (Castlebar CC)
5th – Thomas Walsh (Castlebar CC)
6th – John Carter (Westport Covey Wheelers)
7th – Sean Hastings (Westport Covey Wheelers)
8th – David Brennan (Castlebar CC)
9th – Michael Flanagan (Western Lakes CC)
10th – Jason Prendergast (Cunga CC)

1st Junior – Jason Prendergast (Cunga CC)

1st Lady – Rebecca Conway (Westport Covey Wheelers)

Posted in