Mayo Youth Tour 2010

Connacht Youth Cycling presents
Mayo Youth Tour 2010

Tougher Youth Tour in prospect

The Mayo Youth Tour takes place in Kiltimagh, County Mayo over the Bank Holiday weekend (July 31 to August 2). Now in its second year, the Youth Tour has attracted a record 154 entries across all categories from under 16 to under 12.

The 2010 event promises to be a tougher than last year’s race, with longer stages and more hills. The changes were prompted by suggestions from visiting coaches last year. The event will again comprise four stages – two road races, a time trial and a criterium – and the organisers have introduced a King of the Hills competition.

Visiting teams include the Isle of Man, who have the biggest squad in the race, with 18 entries. They will be hoping to repeat their successes of last year when they scored several stage wins.

Also returning are Scottish Cycling, who are sending eight of their best young prospects, four girls and four boys.

Two teams will be making their Mayo Youth Tour debuts Germany’s RSG Frankfurt club and British Cycling Eastern Region. There are also individual entries from the UK and Belgium.

Selected for Team Ireland are Robert Anderson (a stage winner last year), Cormac Clarke, Shaun Rigley and Francis Sheridan. The Ireland Development team line-up is Craig Arrigan (U14 winner last year), Ciaran Chambers, Chris Kennedy and Jason Prendergast. Munster and Leinster are also fielding teams.

Castlebar CC-TF Royal Hotel & Theatre can boast the biggest club entry with 18 riders across the categories. The Mayo county town club is certainly taking the event seriously, having tuned up with a 10-day training camp in Brittany.

Another Mayo outfit, Covey Wheelers Westport CC, has three of its members on Team Ireland duty (Sheridan, Kennedy and Prendergast) plus nine entrants competing in club colours.

Other clubs competing include Newry Wheelers, Kanturk Credit Union, Newbridge Pfizer, Fermoy CC, Team North Pole CC, Orwell Wheelers, Four Masters and Errigal CC.

Race details:

Headquarters: Park Hotel, Kiltimagh, County Mayo.

Sign on: At Park Hotel, Kiltimagh from 11am to 1pm on Saturday, July 31.


Saturday, July 31 (2.30pm) Stage 1: Kiltimagh-Barnacarroll-Knock-Kiltimagh, 1 lap = 30km.Two laps for U16s & U15s; one lap for U14s & U13s Under-12s start in Barnacarroll.

Sunday, August 1 (9am) stage 2, Time Trial, 4km, Kiltimagh to Bohola road, R321.

Sunday August 1 (2.30pm) stage 3, Kiltimagh-Bohola-Ballyvary-Balla-Kiltimagh, 1 lap = 36km. (30.5km). Two laps for U16s & U15s; one lap for U14s & U13s Under-12s start in Balla..

Monday August 2 (9am) stage 4, criterium on flat 1.2-kilometre circuit, starting and finishing outside Credit Union in Kiltimagh.

Posted in