Western Covey Winner 2017

Western Covey League Results and Presentation

The final round finished up last week with 14 year old Niall McLaughlin holding off fellow Covey Lorraine Mulchrone in her first year of racing. Niall put in 3 great performances to take the title by 5 points from Lorraine with WLCC rider Mike Kelly a further 7 points behind. Mike took the last race of the the series with a sprint finish and his first ever race win.

Niall is certainly one to look out for in the future and Lorraine will be going on win the Mayo League Ladies division this year.

We had a massive turnout throughout the year with a total of 56 riders gaining points, this race has always been a great bed for riders cutting their teeth and once again this has proven the case over the last 3 races.

As with all races we couldn’t host them without the great support of our marshals from both clubs and Jimmy turned up every week to provide support car.

Also Partry soccer club gave us their facilities every night.

The final race finished in the Village Inn in Partry where the presentations were held.

Westport CC took the overall team result winning 412 points to WLCC total of 340 from the top 15.



PositionNameClubRound 3 PointsRound 3 ResultsFINAL RESULT
1Niall McLaughlinCovey101169
2Lorraine MulchroneCovey101064
3Mike KellyWLCC101557
4Anthony O’TooleWLCC048
4Eoghan CarrCovey10948
5Colin LoughreyWLCC101345
6Noel MulroyCovey1041
7Robert CoakleyCovey10738
7Paul FeeneyWLCC101238
8Keith MulroyCovey10237
9David McDermottWLCC34
10John O HalloranWLCC33
11Liam O’SuillibheanCovey32
12Martin JenningsWLCC1031
13Noel GibbonsWLCC1030
13Aidan GillCovey1030
14Mike FlynnCovey29
15Walter LyonsCovey10424
15Ollie KellyWLCC101424
16Anthony MurrayCovey10323
16Yannick ScheererCovey21
16Noel JenningsWLCC10121
16Eammon MarreyWLCC20
16Brian GlaveyCovey20
16Sean O MalleyWLCC20
16Philip StauntonWLCC20
16Joe MoranCovey1020
16Yanis BlinovWLCC1020
16Neill WilsonWLCC18
16Leesa MurrayCovey10818
16Ainars MaskalansWLCC10616
16Tom BourkeCovey10515
16Shane GilliganWLCC12
16Padraic FurlongCovey10
16Pat FlanneryWLCC10
16Jerry ToweyWLCC10
16Scott ToweyWLCC10
16Padraig MarreyWLCC10
16James McGreevyCovey10
16Shane GillCovey10
16Martin O’DonnellWLCC10
16John HughesWLCC10
16Keith O’ConnellCovey10
16Ryan ScottCovey10
16Declan GallagherCovey10
16Francis McGrealCovey10
16Darren FoyWLCC10
16Patricia HarteWLCC10
16Keith HastingsCovey10
16Karen ReganWLCC10
16David ConwayCovey10
16Mark GannonCovey10
16David ConnollyWLCC10
16Mark KellyWLCC10
16John MurphyWLCC10
16Tom HughesWLCC10
Posted in