• 1. Paul Dunne, Ballina CC
  • 2. Janis Blinovs, Western Lakes CC
  • 3. Sean McLoughlin, Westport Covey Wheelers
  • 4. Paul Kavanagh, Galway Bay CC
  • 5. Paul Curran, , Galway Bay CC
  • 6. Sean Hastings, Westport Covey Wheelers
  • 7. Fergal May, St Tiernans
  • 8. TBC
    PAW_4435 (1)
    The A4 race was neutralised for the first 10km which left just under 80km of tough rolling roads following the main stage race. With over 50 riders there were many riders eager to stay at the front and keep the pace up. With Western Lakes and Lucan riders driving the pace up on a tough section between Killeen and Cregganbaun a break eventually went. Initially 6 riders pegged off the front leaving many caught out including Paul Dunne. On the rapid decent through Doolough the aforementioned Dunne and a companion joined the lead group to form the main break of the day. But with the rolling roads of Mayo to deal with the break was reduced to only 6 riders going through Aughagower. Sean Hastings of Westport Covey Wheelers lead out his teammate Sean McLoughlin for the sprint in the fast roll into the town centre finish but Paul Dunne of Ballina CC and Janis Blinovs of Western Lakes pipped around him for 1st and 2nd leaving the 3rd podium spot for the Westport man. Following not far behind was the chase bunch which included the ladies Pink Jersey winner Siobhan O’Malley Westport Covey Wheelers.