Mayo League Presentation Night

Benson wins Mayo cycling League 2013

Castlebar’s CC Karl Benson added the Mayo cycling league to his list of
Palamaris the young sprinter as he is known around Castlebar won 3 of the 9
rounds beating some experienced seniors on the way, the league itself was a
real hot bed for recruiting talent with quite a few new finds.

The hill climb win by Con Doherty Westport (European Sprint Junior Tri
Champion)on the last round and 2nd by Cale Coen Castlebar and 4th by Sean
Flynn Westport in the same event highlight the talent coming through the

In the Overall Benson beat veteran rider from Ballinrobe Padraig Marrey with
another veteran Chris Troy Newport in third.

The league attracted 125 riders from 8 different clubs meaning the
competition was fierce, all abilities were catered for courtesy of the
handicap system.

This year’s league broke new ground by adding a Time Trial at the start a
Team time Trial in the middle and a hill climb at the end of the league
along with 6 handicap road races meaning the winner had to be a real all
rounder, Benson fits the bill perfectly and the future looks bright ahead
for him.

In the Club competition Castlebar CC also prevailed beating Westport Covey
Wheelers and Western Lakes cc.

In the Ladies competition Westport’s Noreen O Toole was crowned queen of the
Mayo league with 5 wins to her credit, Mayo cycling is trying hard to
encourage more women to take up cycle racing and with 11 ladies taking part
in the league this category can only grow from here.

Like all leagues they can only go ahead with the help of marshals and
volunteers, Mayo cycling is lucky to have a good relationship with the
Gardai and the Order of Malta thus building a good foundation.

The likes of Jimmy Durcan, Mick Reidy do Trojan work to make the races as
safe as possible with decked out cars and safety equipment, John Brennan,
Noel Brady and Brian O Loughlin make sure the races are organised under the
rules of Cycling Ireland and all the clubs provide the infrastructure to
make the races happen in their area.

On Friday the 27th of September at 7.30pm at Tom Bourke’s bar Castlebar
street Westport Mayo cycling league will hold its annual presentation night.

All the Mayo championship and league winners will receive their prizes.

Posted in