Mayo Cycling Championships Race Report & Results

Westport was the venue for the second ever Mayo cycling Championship, the
event attracted the best cyclist Mayo have to offer with in form riders
Patrick Clarke Castlebar and Professional Charles Prendergast Louisburg on
the start line along with 51 other cyclist from the nine Mayo cycling clubs
who have a combined membership of over one thousand members.

With 10 categories to cater for, this race was very much a race within a race
as tactics played a role on who followed who but in the end aggressive
riding was rewarded as it was those who attacked who gained the most.

The route over 63kms took in Newport, Glenisland, Glenhest, Newport with the
finish on Minister hill on the approach to Westport.

The race started at a frantic pace with attacks from the drop of the flag, a
number of moves were instigated by Castlebar CC were all reeled in before
Newport before a move by Ciaran Clarke Castlebar and Padraig Marrey Western
Lakes CC opening a gap on the hill up by Cuilmore school, by the top the gap
was only a few seconds on 2 chasers Patrick Clarke Castlebar and Charles

The quartet rode as a solid unit for the next 40kms holding a gap of around
one minute on the bunch of chasers.

At Kilmeena with 7k to go the attacks up front splintered the quartet with
Prendergast and Clarke opening a small gap on Marrey and Ciaran Clarke.

Prendergast went for broke when he put in a huge attack on Barley hill with
2k to go putting Clarke under serve pressure, a second attack opened
daylight between the two and a pursuit all the way to line ended with
Victory for the Louisburg man for the second time in a row at these
championships, Charles who races professionally with the Polygon sweet team
was more than happy with the result.

In the sprint for third Marrey had just enough to take it from Ciaran
Clarke, with Marrey winning the Veterans gold and Clarke taking bronze in
the A1 category.

60seconds later Chris Troy of Castlebar won the gallop up the hill from
Michael Brady Westport Covey who wins the A2 gold with JJ Flaherty Western
Lakes 7th across the line and 2nd in the A2 category.

The bunch followed another 30seconds later with David Mc Grath Castlebar CC
showing a fine turn of speed to win the 15 man bunch gallop winning the A3
gold for his efforts.

Big thanks for Westport Covey wheelers for organising the Champs and to Tom
Bourke’s bar for providing the refreshments.


[singlepic id=884 w=320 h=240 float=none]

1st Charles Prendergast Polygon Sweet Cunga CC

2nd Patrick Clarke Castlebar CC

3RD Padraig Marrey Western Lakes CC

Team Castlebar CC (Patrick Clarke, Ciaran Clarke, Chris Troy, David Mc

A1 Category

1st Charles Prendergast

2nd Patrick Clarke

3rd Ciaran Clarke

A2 Category

1st Mick Brady Westport Covey

2nd JJ Flaherty Western Lakes CC

3rd Mark Quigley Western Lakes CC

A3 Category

1st Dave Mc Grath Castlebar CC

2nd Colm Staunton Westport Covey

3rd Gary Collins Cunga CC

A4 Category

1st Ollie Whyte Westport Covey

2nd David Mac Dermott Western Lakes CC

3rd Michael Flynn Westport Covey


1st Jason Prendergast Cunga CC

2nd Con Doherty Westport Covey

3rd Cale Coen Castlebar CC


1st Padraig Marrey Western Lakes CC

2nd Chris Troy Castlebar CC

3rd Albert Morrow Ballina


1st Collette Sweeney Westport Covey

2nd Siobhan O Malley Westport Covey

3rd Tina O Malley Westport

Under 16

1st Sean Flynn Westport Covey

2nd Karl Benson Castlebar CC

Club Racer

1st Sean Hastings Westport Covey

2nd Tom Mc Greal Westport Covey

3rd Eoin Carr Westport Covey

See for race pictures and

[nggallery id=29]

Posted in