Bourke Waste Ras Mhaigheo 2012 Results

Thanks to Bourke Waste, and all our sponsors for supporting this event.

Thanks to all the Marshall’s who assisted during the day, and thanks to all the cyclists for coming and supporting Bourke Waste Ras Mhaigheo.

Race Report
A bold late attack saw Charles Prendergast solo to victory in the 82km Ras Maigh Eo and regain the trophy he last held in 2009. Prendergast, chasing his second win in seven days, broke clear of a seven-man lead group with around 15-kilometres to go.

The group split up as the strongest riders gave pursuit but they were unable to close the gap on Prendergast, who held out to finish 40 seconds clear of a three chasers. Michael Brady snatched second place from last year’s winner, David Brennan, with Ciaran Clarke in third.

Prendergast was exhausted after his lone effort but is pleased with his current form which he hopes to carry into Ras Mumhan and possibly a debut in the An Post Ras.
“It was a good honest race with plenty of attacks,” said runner-up Brady.

A1-2-3 Results:
1. Charles Prendergast – Cunga
2. Michael Brady – Westport CC
3. David Brennan – Castlebar CC
4. Ciaran Clarke – Castlebar CC
5. Padraig Marrey – Western Lakes
6. Mike Storan – West Clare
7. John James Flathery – Western Lakes
8. David Nugent
9. Aidan Reid – Black Rose
10.Donal Harrington – Western Lakes

A4 Results:
1. Paul McCarter – Donegal
2. Anthony Murray – Westport CC
3. Janos Koher – Bray Wheelers
4. Robert Kelly – St Tiernans

First Lady:
Susan Hastings – Westport CC

First Junior:
Jason Prendergast – Cunga

Under 12:
1. Aaron Doherty
2. Johnathan Cooke 
3. Liam Hanley

Under 12 First girl: 
Lydia Sheridan  

Under 14: 
1. Dion McCarthy 
2. Dillon Cockery 
3. Ronan O’Diorain 

Under 16:
1. Eddie Dunbar 
2. Daragh Bailey 
3. Ciarian Muldoon