league 2011 copy

Westport Covey Wheelers Club League 2011

Westport Covey Wheelers Club League 2011

In early March 2011 Stephen Breheny, last years Club Chairman, proposed a Club League which started on the 30th March with a 16k Time Trial. There were 56 cyclists signed on for the first night with over 76 riders having completed at least one stage. There would be a further 6 handicapped Road Races with beginners getting a time advantage over the more experienced cyclists and finish with a final Time Trial. Each race drew an average crowd of 50 cyclists as it proved to be a great success across the cycling spectrum with underage, beginners, leisure, ladies and elite racers all finishing high in the points table.

6 Road races over 40 – 50 kilometer courses including out and back to Louisburgh and various lap courses around Aughagower saw the beginners and underage off to a great start in the League. In the latter rounds of the Competition the handicaps were tightened and the Elites were finishing high in the points.

The Covey Wheelers Club League had its final round on the Leenane road on Wednesday 21st September, a Time Trial was the event to round off the league and it also gave the League a lot of bite in the final round with two cyclists very close on points. Under 14 Damien Gannon who was having a great season was leading the Competition by 5 points clear of Patjoe O’Connell. A complete novice at the start of the season Patjoe had gone from strength to strength to maintain a high position in the table throughout the campaign.

The winner would be the one who improved his or her time from the first Time Trial way back in March on the same course, and as the event went on it looked like an upset was on the cards, first back was under 14 Damien Gannon who put in a great time of 29.17 an improvement of 1.48 so it was now up to Pat Joe O’Connell and sure enough he done a time of 28. 49, a massive improvement of 6.07 giving him the overall win in the League.

Top Ten League Places:
1. Patjoe O’Connell
2. Damien Gannon
3. Shane Mulchrone
4. Simon Moran
5. Dylan Corr
6. Michael Brady
7. Brian Duffy
8. Stephen Breheny
9. Chris Kennedy
10. Jason Prendercast

Most Improved Junior: Jack Halpin
Most Improved Senior: Rory Smyth
Fastest Time Trial: Anthony Murray
Fastest Lady: Siobhan O’Malley
Fastest Underage: Aaron Doherty.
Best Place Lady in the League: Noreen O’Toole (11th)
Longest Distance in a 16k Time Trial: Noreen O’Toole. (Actual distance travelled 21.2km)

Author: Keith O’Connell

[nggallery id=12]