Team Time Trial Results 2011

Team Time Trial 2011 Results

11 teams turned up for a new novel idea of a 9 person Team time trial, each team had a captain and vice captain with certain rules and regulations being set to make the event interesting for every level of cyclist.

101 cyclists took part and kicked off at 4.30pm last Saturday 15th October in Ballinrobe with each group getting a 3minute gap. It looked good for Mary Mulchrone’s Western Lakes Team 4 who fielded a very strong side to compete against the big name sides that were being put forwarded by the Covie’s.  Unfortunately they had a crash and two riders were injured.

However, it was the underdogs of Colin Kelly’s Covey Wheelers Team 2 which surprised the large crowd at the Presentation when the Times were eventually called and it emerged that the Covies had won the inaugural inter club Team Time Trial event.

Colin Kelly’s Team consisted of: Colin Kelly, Keith O’Connell, Tom O’Flynn, Robert Fabby, James Fitzsimmon, Jack Halpin, Patjoe O’Connell, Paul Feeney and Robert Conway.   

Overall Results:

Western Lakes Team 1:            1hr10min30sec Mark Quigley & Breege Morrin

Covey Wheelers Team 1:          1hr 5min04sec  Robbie Flynn & Ray Staunton

Western Lakes Team 2:            1hr 02min06sec Martin Joyce & JJ Flaherty DSQ

Covey Wheelers Team 2:          1hr 02min13sec Colin Kelly & Keith O Connell

Western Lakes Team 3:            1hr 04min40sec Jim Tuohy & Gerard Hack

Covey Wheelers Team 3:          1hr 02min55sec Michael Brady & Derval Devaney

Western Lakes Team 4:            Crashed Mary Mulchrone & Brendan Scullion

Covey Wheelers Team 4:          1hr 06min38sec Anthony Murray & Noel Brady

Western Lakes Team 5:            1hr12min34sec Michael Gilvarry &Padraic Hughes

Covey Wheelers Team 5:          1hr 04min40sec Tom Bourke & Colm Staunton

Western Lakes Team 6:            1hr15min31sec Declan Gibbons & Mark Kelly

Posted in