2010 AGM

AGM held in Castlecourt Hotel on 03.12.2010

A large crowd attended Westport Covey Wheelers Cycling Club 2010 AGM last Thursday 2nd December in the Castlecourt Hotel. Stephen Brehony acting club chairman gave a brief history of club to the new members that joined in 2010 and he also mentioned many of the accomplishments achieved by both the seniors and juniors during 2010. Noel Brady discussed the clubs financial status after which a new committee was elected for 2011:

Honorary President – Mickey Palmer
Chairman – Stephen Brehony
Secretary – Sinead Conneally
Treasurer – Noel Brady
Youth Officer – Martin McNally
Race Officer – Robert Flynn
Leisure Cycle Officer – Robert Conway
Public Relations Officer – Keith O’Connell
Technical Officer – Ray Staunton
Committee Member – Michael Brady
Committee Member – Ann Marie Egan

At the AGM Stephen Brehony stated that new members are always welcome and that we will endeavour to make their experience as enjoyable as possible. Stephen listed the various options of membership from basic leisure spin to full racing licence membership, indicating that there will be a registration night for membership which will be held at one of the spinning classes currently being run in Scoil Padriag on Wednesdays from 7 -9pm. When the evenings begin to stretch out in the new year the Club will host an Wednesday evening spin which will cater for all levels of cyclists with the Sunday morning spin continuing through the winter, leaving the Clock at 9am.

Robbie Flynn the new Race Officer is organising additional training sessions for the more enthusiastic cyclist on Satudays and Sundays, details of arrangements will be texted to members over the coming weeks.

On a final note, Stephen mentioned the clubs ambitions for the New Year to include one Open Race, a Local Members league, a Major Family Fun Cycle and to incorporate Adventure Race training into the schedule for 2011.